Georgia roadways are one place where teens can be punished more harshly than adults who commit the same violation. Many parents are surprised when their child’s traffic offense leads to license suspension in court when it would’ve just resulted in a fine for an adult driver. So what are some common causes of teen drivers losing their license revoked or suspended in Georgia?
Fleeing an Accident or a Police Officer
A hit-and-run accident is serious, whether someone is hurt or not. Fleeing the scene can cause your teenager to lose their license for a full six months. It’s important to emphasize to your children that the best course of action if this ever happens is to call the authorities when an accident happens. Similarly, fleeing from the police is never a good idea. If the police catch or identify your child, his or her license will be automatically suspended for six months.
Drugs and Alcohol
Whether your child got behind the wheel drunk or was simply in possession of alcohol or marijuana, it can mean time without a license. It’s illegal for your teen to purchase liquor by falsifying their age or identity or by paying someone else to get it. Despite not being a driving offense, it can lead to six months without a license. Getting a ticket for marijuana possession can lead to the same. A DUI is worse; while it starts with an automatic six-month suspension (if the BAC was less than .08), the driver can’t get it back until they complete a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program approved by the Department of Driver Services which includes a $200 fee. If it’s a second offense, a BAC of greater than .08, or the driver refused to submit to a test, their license can be taken away for a full year.
A teen driver that doesn’t pay attention can be considered a reckless driver. If your teenager is all over the road because they’re distracted, they can lose their license. According to studies, 6 out of 10 moderate-to-severe teen crashes are caused by distractions. These range from interacting with passengers to cell phone use and grooming. Teach your teen to stay safe by telling them to focus solely on the road.
Speeding or Racing
A few miles over the speed limit will simply result in points on your teen’s license, but if they’re caught going 24 miles or more over the posted speed, they can have their license suspended. Even if they aren’t speeding, but they racing another vehicle, police consider it a serious offense and won’t hesitate to revoke their license for six months.
Accumulating 4 or More Points in One Year for Drivers Under 18
Teens under the age of 18 have stricter licensing rules than those aged 18-20. Young teenagers can lose their license for six months after accumulating only 4 points in a year. This can be as simple as two typical speeding tickets. Penalties are harsher for younger teens to motivate them to drive safely. If their license is suspended, early reinstatement is not allowed. They’ll have to complete a defensive driving class, retake the Georgia driver’s exam, and pay a fee to have their license reinstated at the end of the 6-month period.
If your teen is at risk of losing their license, they’ll need representation at their court hearing to protect their rights. When dealing with a DUI, let the extensive experience of the attorneys at Savannah DUI help you and your child reduce penalties and let them regain their independence more quickly. Call us at (912) 221-4441 if you ever find yourself in this situation!