There are steep penalties in Georgia if you’re arrested for a DUI. You could be facing fines, jail time, counseling, classes, and community service. However, one of the consequences that can affect your life the most is the loss of your driver’s license. You could lose the ability to get to school or get to work. You may end up losing your job, and therefore your family’s income. That’s why it’s important to hire an attorney to fight for the best possible outcome.
You Have 30 Days to Appeal
If you’re arrested for a DUI in Georgia, your driver’s license may be suspended. You could lose the privilege to drive before you’ve even been convicted. If you refused to take the urine, blood, or breath test, and it’s your first administrative suspension, you’re looking at a 12-month loss of your license without the possibility of early reinstatement or a limited driving permit.
After a Georgia DUI arrest, you and your attorney will have 30 days to install an ignition interlock device or request an ALS hearing that may allow you to keep your driver’s license. You’ll pay $150 for the hearing, and it can restore your ability to drive legally in Georgia. The hearing is not automatic and must be requested. If your license was taken by law enforcement, you must either appeal the automatic suspension of your license or install an ignition interlock device within 30 days in order to prevent your license from going into suspension. If you do not request the hearing or install the IID, your license will be suspended for a year.
If you are eligible for a limited use driving permit during your suspension, you’ll be allowed to drive to school, work, and substance or alcohol abuse meetings, as well as court-ordered community service or probation appointments, medical appointments, and pharmacies to pick up or drop off prescriptions. You may also transport immediate family members to these places if they do not have a driver’s license. Additionally, your license may be eligible for early reinstatement if you attend a DUI school Risk Reduction course and pay a fee.
License Suspension From a Conviction
If you’re convicted of DUI, the court will look for prior convictions in the last five years. For a first conviction, the maximum amount of time an adult’s license can be suspended is 12 months, but you could be eligible for reinstatement after 120 days if you pay a fee and complete a DUI course.
For those younger than 21 years with a BAC of less than 0.08 or suppressed test results, your license may be suspended for a period of six months, even if you refused the breath test. If your breathalyzer showed a BAC of over 0.08, the suspension period raises to a full year.
Drivers under 21 years of age don’t have the option of early reinstatement or a limited use driving permit. Also, if your license was previously mandatorily suspended due to reckless driving, a hit and run, or another offense worth four or more points on your license, but it’s your first DUI, you’re looking at a 12 months suspension period no matter what your BAC level was.
Limited use driving permits are not available for drug-related DUI convictions, even if they were legal prescriptions. If you’re facing drug charges as well, you may lose your license for a longer period of time.
Subsequent DUI convictions within the five-year window carry heavier penalties and make it harder to get a limited permit. You’re looking at no driving for the first 120 days and then mandatory installation of an IID for the first eight months if you want limited driving privileges after that time.
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Georgia, your license could be suspended even before you’re convicted, making it impossible to get to work or school. DUI fines can be expensive, so it’s imperative that you speak to an attorney at Savannah DUI to fight for your rights and appeal the proceedings, so you or your family members don’t need to worry about losing your income. Call us today at 912-221-4441 or contact us online.