Most drivers are itching to get their driver’s license reinstated following a DUI conviction. This blog explains the necessary steps to help you get back on the road again.
If the conviction is your first offense in five years, you will likely face a license suspension of 12 months. However, eligibility for reinstatement after 120 days is possible depending on particular circumstances. If you meet the following criteria, you should be eligible to apply for reinstatement after 120 days.
- You must be 21 years or older.
- Your license must have been suspended for at least 120 days.
- You must complete a Department of Driver Services-approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction program and be able to present the certificate to prove it.
- You must pay the reinstatement fee either by mail or in person.
If you meet all of the criteria above, you can apply to have your license reinstated by applying online via the Georgia Department of Driver Services. When submitting the payment, it is important to include the “Official Notice of Suspension” sent by DDS. However, if no “Official Notice of Suspension” was received, the applicant must provide their full name, date of birth, driver’s license number, address, and social security number to enable the DDS to match the payment received with the correct driving record.
Remember to submit the payment in full, as partial payments cannot be processed.
What is a limited driving permit?
A person convicted of a DUI may be able to apply for a limited driving permit before their driving suspension is over. A person wishing to apply for a limited driving permit must submit an Affidavit of First Conviction to the Georgia Department of Driver Services. If successful in their application, this license allows the person to drive to work or school, to probation visits, and to drug and alcohol counseling sessions. However, driving anywhere outside of this, for example, to do grocery shopping is not permitted.
Georgia’s Implied Consent Law
Remember, under Georgia Law, a person suspected of a DUI may be subject to chemical tests to help officers determine whether they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving. If a person refuses to take these tests, their license may be suspended for at least one year and they will not be permitted to apply for a limited driving permit.
Protect your driving license
The attorneys at Savannah DUI may be able to prevent you from losing your driving privileges. If you have already been convicted of a DUI, they can help you understand whether you are eligible to have your license reinstated or apply for a limited permit and will assist you through each step of the process. Contact us today for a confidential consultation to see how we can help you.